I’m no Betty Crocker, but I try

This weekend was full of baking and sharing special moments with the family. So often throughout the holidays, people forget about what Christmas is all about– so this year I decided to spend less time running around shopping and more time making lasting traditions with the family.

First it started out with little Kendrick’s Picasso Birthday–not a lot of pictures– not enough hands, but know that it was super cute :)

Then it was time to make goodies for Duriel’s class and the kiddos at the daycare. I found these really cute tags over at Organized Christmas and used the following recipe to make a simple treat for each kid.

Recipe

Oats

red & green glitter

Christmas sprinkels

and then it was on to making cookies for the kids teachers (7 total). I’m not a baker so we stuck to the store bought pre-cut cookies and baked away. There was a total of 9 dozen completed but after my husband and kids got to them it was a total of 8 batches.

I know I’m not Betty Crocker but I try:) Now it’s time to package them up and send them on their way.

What did you guys bake or are you make this weekend?

6 thoughts on “I’m no Betty Crocker, but I try

  1. We buy the store-bought kind as well, but the packages where you add water and egg. The gingersnap ones are pretty tasty, especially when they’re covered in frosting! Your post reminds me…time to make Reindeer Food!

    Congrats on being a vB featured member!
    Gina
    http://www.totallyfullofit.com

  2. This post touched me because I’ve been so busy with working lately that I haven’t spent quality time with the family. Also, like Kristy, I love the Reindeer food :)

  3. We have a tradition where the week before Christmas we do a different craft project every day. It’s a fun way to pass the time and we get to craft presents for friends and relatives we couldn’t afford to buy something for. And of course it brings all my kids to the table for a few hours which I love!

  4. I love the reindeer food, I think it’s a great idea too! Children really do appreciate making memories more than they do “stuff,” even if they don’t always realize it. I think your traditions are off to a great start. Good for you! Thanks for sharing.

    Visiting from vB, congrats on your feature!

Leave a Reply

