My new addiction: {Chalkboard paint}

Some people are addicted to cigerates and some are addicted to alcohale but I’m addicted to chalkboard paint! Yes, mamas can have addiction too. Well… hold on…wait!  let me rephrase that, I’m “addicted” to the USE of chalkboard paint.

I love it! If you don’t remember some of my other projects using CBP— let me give you a quick recap of two projects.

See what I’m talking about? Addicted right?

Well just to add to my addiction– I found ANOTHER simple project to do with my CBP.

As some of you know I’m all about list and having a place for everything so I decided to make my older boys this:

A chalboard peg board memo board! Super neat, right? I think so :)

To make I used an old: bullentin board ( really old)

Taped off the edges with painters tape and used

Chalkboard spray paint ( purchased from Hobby Lobby) and painted the entire center of the peg board— let dry and then repeated with a second and third coat.

Let dry over night and then covered the inside with painters tape and painted the trim white using white spray paint.

Time: 30 minutes ( not counting the over night drying)

Cost: ~ 8.00 for 2 cans of Chalkboard paint ( already had white paint)

Purpose: A place for the boys to write out spelling/vocabulary list for week— post (with push pins) any fundraiser, or notes from school or to jot down there sports schedules throughout the year.

The great thing about this board is that it’s seen as soon as the boys come in through the back door from school– so easy access.

Next project: Chalkboard wall  in the boys room

Inspiration:

Photo source: houzz.com

25 thoughts on “My new addiction: {Chalkboard paint}

  1. OK, that’s it! That’s just it!! I’m going to get some chalkboard paint TODAY! I’ve had so many ideas swirling around in my little mind about cute things to do with CBP, and this just pushed me over the edge. So very cute & clever. It was the spelling words that got me–perfect! Thanks so much for posting this–LOVE!

  2. I have begun to get the itch to paint somethig in my house with chalkboard paint. There is a little sliver of space betwee the refrigerator and the wall that I think will be a good space. Trying to convice hubs. It would be a great place to write my grocery list and other things we need to know..Maybe I’ll show him this ad he will go for it!

    • @Brandy– you’re going to get soooo addicted once you start– it’s like getting a tattoo– you just going back for more!

      @Mimi– the kitchen is a great place to start– my first CBP project was my kitchen pantry doors– one side for my menu and the other for a shopping list– have fun!

  3. Very cute projects! Do you have a problem with chalk dust, or do you use the dust free? I found some “chalkboard” sticky-type paper that I still need to put up in my little girl’s room to see if it works. You’re supposed to be able to put it up and remove it whenever you want like those wall stickers they have. I’ll let you know how it works!
    Stopping in from voiceBoks.com
    Michelle
    Heartfelt Balance Handmade Life

  4. Okay, that is so cool! I have actually seen stuff like that but never dared use it. my dad made a little “picnic” table for my kids with the chalkboard on the top of it, and they can sit there and color with chalk on it. It’s darling. But I’m a wuss I guess. LOL- no more of that. Everything is so cute! And I never ever thought of using it on glass jars like you did. What a great christmas present for neighbors!!!

    I’m here from voiceboks and I am now following you.

  5. I WANT ONE! I totally just showed my hubby this pic- he just put together a “school area” for my kids’ homework stuff, and this would be perfect. He’s looking for stuff to day, so I am going to set him to work on this! :)
    Stopping by from vB’s Members to Remember, and SO looking forward to seeing more! :)

  6. I love thiis idea!!! I can see how you could get addicted, I’m sitting here thinking of all the places I could use that!! I love the cannisters, excellent idea!!! Thanks for such a fun visit!!

    Kathy – visiting from voiceBoks and My dishwashers’s possessed!

  7. I had no idea this now comes in a spray can……woohoo!

    Stopping by from vB’s Member to Remember Event. I don’t see anywhere to follow you?

    • @Michelle– I use Bistro Chalk Markers– I found mine at Hobby Lobby (4 in a pk for 9.99)– love them! They leave no dust!

      @This Mom’s Heart– Can’t wait to see what you came up with– make sure to post pics!

      @Jen– I don’t have a GFC– but you can subscibe by clicking the ‘subscribe’ button :)

      Thanks for visiting ladies!

  8. We’re thinking about incorporating it in our kitchen. SO FUN!

    I teach a 5th-6th grade ministry at our church, and we have a whole wall covered in chalkboard paint. The kids love it.

  9. So RIDICULOUSLY awesome!! I love that you painted the inside of one cupboard!! My little one would LOVE that….I’m thinking maybe I could do her closet doors….but, then I may never see her – she would be in her room all the time!!
    :)
    Stopping by from VB
    Have a great week! :)
    Carla

  10. I’ve wanted to try chalkboard paint for a long time, but I’m nervous. How do you paint over it if you don’t want it anymore???? Your examples are great though. Feeling inspired to experiment.

    Sadie via vB

  11. I’ve seen this on a few of those “DIY” or “Designer” shows on TV but never saw any “real” people that have used this product. I think it could be a real great product for someone with kids but even if you need to “cover” a wall that is damaged for regular paint this could be an awesome idea. Thanks for sharing

  12. Thank you for participating in the Thursday Favorite things hop and for always sharing with your readers. I hope you made some new bloggy friends. Hoping your weekend is a sweet one xo P.S. did you enter the pink poodle giveaway?

Leave a Reply

